Home Politics Left backed United Teachers Front impresses in AP MLC Elections

Left backed United Teachers Front impresses in AP MLC Elections

by Staff
305 views Vijayawada

Elections to a total of 6 seats as notified by the Election Commission were held on March 15, 2021. 4 out of these seats were to be filled as the sitting MLCs are retiring on March 29. Two by-polls had to be held- one, due to the demise of a sitting member, Challa Ramakrishna Reddy, and the other due to a resignation. The term of the resigned member, Pilli Subash Chandra Bose, was to otherwise end on March 29 this year along with that of four others. Bose’s resignation to Legislative Council owes itself to his election to Rajya Sabha as a member of parliament along with Mopidevi Venkata Ramana on behalf of the YSR Congress Party.

With respect to two seats in the quota of teachers, elections were held to represent the Godavari and the Krishna-Guntur regions. Ramu Surya Rao from the East-West Godavari district and AS Rama Krishna from Krishna-Guntur will be retiring by the end of the month. While Rao has been out of the race, Krishna contested from the Krishna-Guntur constituency. Krishna was backed by Telugu Desam Party.

Among key candidates, who were in the fray, the Left-backed Progressive Democratic Association (PDA) fielded Boddu Nageswara Rao was a prominent face in Krishna-Guntur, and Shaik Sabjee contested from the Godavari. Rao, a former MLC from Krishna Guntur from Graduates quota, has contested from teachers’ constituency this time. Shaik Sabjee is also the current president of the United Teachers Front (UTF).

After Sabjee secured 7,987 first priority votes, he was declared the winner from the Godavari seat. Since 2007, 13 members of the UTF were elected to the Legislative council. Part of UDF’s agenda is to unite people against saffronization and the commercialization of education.

The Krishna-Guntur seat had seen a close contest between independent Kalpalata and PDA-backed Nageswara Rao. Kalpalata was declared the winner after counting the second priority votes as none of them have secured the required 6,153 votes in the first priority votes. 

The legislative council will also see the exit of its Chairman M A Shariff of the TDP soon, along with BJP’s President Somu Veerraju. Seven more members of TDP will also retire this year.


Related Posts