Home Administration Election Commission announces schedule for Tirupati by-poll

Election Commission announces schedule for Tirupati by-poll

by Supraja
293 views Tirupati

On Tuesday, the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the schedule for the Tirupati by-poll. Tirupati Parliamentary seat became vacant after the death of Balli Durga Prasad Rao due to COVID on 16th September 2020. Along with this, the Belgaum Lok Sabha seat became vacant after the death of former Minister of State for Railways of India, Suresh Chennabasappa Angadi due to COVID. Nomula Narasimhaiah who won in 2018 Telangana Assembly elections from Nagarjuna Sagar assembly constituency also passed away due to health issues on 1st December 2020. Along with Telangana, other legislative assembly seats are going for elections; Morwa Hadaf (SC) in Gujarat, Madhupur in Jharkhand; Basavakalyan, Maski (ST) in Karnataka; Damoh in Madhya Pradesh; Pandaripur in Maharashtra; Sercchip (ST) in Mizoram; Noksen in Nagaland; Pipili in Odisha; Sahara, Sujangarh (SC), Rajsamand in Rajasthan; and Salt in Uttarakhand.


Important Dates to Remember:

Issue of Notification and accepting the nominations to start from 23rd March

Last date for filing the nominations: 30th March

Nominations Scrutiny: 31st March

Last date for withdrawal of nominations: 3rd March

Polling date: 17th April

Counting of votes: 2nd May

The by-polls will be conducted based on the voter’s list released on 1st January 2021. Election code will come into force in the districts which are going for by-polls.

Political parties announce the candidates in AP

After the announcement of the by-poll schedule, YSRCP announced Dr. Guru Murthy as its candidate. Guru Murthy is a physiotherapist by profession, closely worked with Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy during his entire Padayatra. TDP already announced Panabaka Lakshmi as its candidate, CPM announced Nellore Yadgiri as its candidate. However, there is no clarity on the BJP – JSP candidate, while unconfirmed reports state that Karnataka’s former Chief Secretary Ratna Prabha could be the BJP candidate for the by-polls. 


Related Posts